Odd job number seven: unique sales

November 5, 2009 at 12:51 am (Reporting)

6817_1157185342828_1623574399_414283_6024247_n

Courtesy of Facebook

Josmari Rodriguez, a senior mass communication major at Towson has her own ideas about making money. And she has found a unique way to do it. With family circumstances being a factor, this students does what she can to help her family and afford school.

“My real job, I’m a manager at Aldo shoe store and how I try to make extra money is… well let me just start from the beginning, it all ties together.”

“My father was just recently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s so he was dismissed from his job, so my sister and I, she does a lot of crafty stuff and she sells a lot of that. I don’t have time to do that so I just take all my purses that I don’t use ever and I took my mothers shoes that she hasn’t used in years, most of them were brand new or lightly used, and I box them up and chose the nicest ones to sell. The ‘80’s style is in so her shoes from the ‘80s are perfect for people who really like vintage.”

“Everything is lower than $20, what I make is money that my mom doesn’t have to spend on me.”

“I could used the money to help pay for my school. So since my dad doesn’t work anymore, last semester I had to work full time. Because of that I failed two of my classes. I’m retaking them right now, so I’m not working as much at Aldo right now. That is why I decided to sell that stuff out of my car to make extra money.”

“I can’t tell people to come to me to buy stuff, I have to bring it to them that is why I keep the stuff in my car.”

“I haven’t been advertising lately as much as I was in the beginning because its November, the semesters ending and there’s a lot more school work to do. But I did have some phones calls.”

“Some ads get ripped down so people can keep the phone number or so other people can put their stuff up and I haven’t been reprinting them like I should be.”

“I mostly took all the purses and had an event at my house to sell them. We have one once or twice a year. That’s where my sister sells her stuff so I sell mine to.”

“Creativity is key, basically creativity will tap in when you really, really need the money. I really needed the money so I started selling my stuff.”

“That’s so 5th grade, but I had to think of it as a way to make money. I had to price it as high as possible, but I had to think of what students would buy, so it couldn’t be over $20.”

“When someone has the resources, like I have a car, I can bring the stuff to you, you don’t have to come to me and when you need the money, the ideas will come to you.”

“I printed out flyers. I picked a font and wrote out the prices. I did it all in the library.”

“I’ve done it since the beginning of the semester.”

“I had a lot of clients in the beginning of the semester. Word of mouth helps me. It doesn’t mean I get a sale every time, but it’s something.”

“I sell knock off bags. I sold a knock off Dior bag for $20. The buckle was broken, but the girl still wanted it. I mean it was a Dior bag, what the heck.”

“There’s name brand and non name brand stuff.”

“Once I sell the stuff I have I will do other stuff. Even right now too, I make and sell earrings. I buy the posts and glue stuff to the front of it.”

“It’s really easy but sometimes people don’t have time to do it, so they’ll just buy it.”

“I also got this idea from a local headband designer, you just glue decorative flowers to the band. So when you put the headband on, it looks like you have a flower in your hair.”

“This is kind of funny, but I was watching Master P, he has a reality show and I only saw the first one and I think he’s so corny, a rapper trying to have a reality show, but his points were so true. Excuses won’t get you anywhere. Just because I dress a certain way, means I cant get a job. You’re not obligated to dress the way you do. You can change what you look like to change the impression you give people. Its just excuses.”

“If you want to make money, you will.”

“If you’re good at something, sell it. If your good at braiding hair, advertise that you know how to braid hair. I did that when I was younger, I could corn row. I don’t do it anymore, I don’t have the time and it makes my hands heart, but yeah.”

“Market yourself if you know how to do something. If you know how to dance, shoot, put on a show.”

“Everybody is looking for something different, especially if it’s affordable.”

“Its important to just be creative. Then your not blending in, your standing out and someone is going to look at you.”

2 Comments

  1. Danielle Koch said,

    This is really interesting. I think a lot of people don’t think about selling their own clothing and accessories unless their bringing it to a thrift store or something. I’m sure lots of college students would be willing to buy though; we all like to get good deals. Does she only sell items to people on campus, or will she go to surrounding apartment complexes? This could get pretty time consuming, but it’s nice because she can work when she has time since it’s not a set schedule.

  2. lilymlee said,

    This is really cool, I would never think about selling things out of my car. Her life story is really touching, you can really feel for her and understand. Since we are students going through exams just like she is, we understand that there isn’t enough time to do everything. She’s using her time effectively and people should learn from her.

Leave a comment